Entomological Society of India Young Entomologist Award 2020

The Entomological Society of India (ESI) was founded in 1938, it is one of the largest professional societies in India serving entomologists and researchers in related disciplines. The Executive Committee of ESI held on 9 May, 2018 at 2.00 PM in the Division of Entomology, IARI, New Delhi approved the introduction of ESI Young Scientist/ Entomologist Awards each calendar year to encourage and promote young entomologists in the country. (http://nebula.wsimg.com/1b5ccdf0f0c20ad36d668c59030 9673650816&disposition=0&alloworigin=1). As per this recommendation of Executive Committee ESI Young Entomologist Award 2020 has been introduced by Society. The details of the criteria for the award and the logistics were deliberated upon and finalised by an internal Committee constituted for the purpose. The Committee gave its recommendations and these were finalised in June, 2020, deciding to spend an amount of Rs. 50000. It was decided to give away five awards, all awards to be equal, each carrying a cash award of Rs. 10000/-, a certificate with citation to be presented in a simple public ceremony. Thus, it was decided to proceed with five awards initially based on the finalised/ evolved criteria, without any ranking. The call for award was notified on 20.8.2020 with deadline being 30.9.2020. The details were uploaded in the ESI website http://nebula.wsimg.com/0e4e1e3d1ab7771e07ce96e4d56b44 20F709673650816&disposition=0&alloworigin=1. The details of nominations along with criteria and nomination form were uploaded. This advertisement spelts out the criteria that were followed clearly.

The ESI received 25 nominations before the due date of 30th September 2020, of which three nominations were found not eligible according to criteria mentioned in the award announcement. Preliminary screening of the rest of nominations was done by the ESI Award Committee constituted by the Society. Taking into account the scores for the criteria as advertised, shortlisting of top ten candidates was done based on the scores secured by each.

Sl. no.	Name of applicants	Affiliations
		Scientist (Agricultural
		Entomology), Division of Crop
		Protection, ICAR-Central Institute
		for Cotton Research, Panjari,
		Wardha Road, Nagpur – 440 010
1.	Dr. BABASAHEB B. FAND	Maharashtra
		Senior Scientist (Agril.
		Entomology), Division of Crop
		Protection, ICAR RC NEH
	Dr. FIRAKE DNYANESHWAR	Region, Umiam-793103
2.	MADHUKAR	Meghalaya-
		Scientist, ICAR-RCER,
		FSRCHPR, Plandu, Ranchi-
3.	Dr. JAIPAL SINGH CHOUDHARY	834010 Jharkhand
		Senior Scientist (Agricultural
4.	Dr. JOHNSON STANLEY	Entomology), ICAR- Indian

List of top ten candidates and their affiliations

		Institute of Millets Research,
		Rajendra Nagar, Hyderabad –
		500030, Telangana
		Scientist, ICAR-NBAIR,
5.	Dr. K. SELVARAJ	Bengaluru, Karnataka
		Scientist (Agricultural
		Entomology), Crop Science,
		ICAR-Central Coastal Agricultural
		Research Institute Ela, Old Goa,
6.	Dr. MARUTHADURAI. R	Goa, 403 402.
		Division of Entomology, ICAR-
	Dr. MESHRAM NARESH	Indian Agricultural Research
7.	MANOHAR	Institute, New Delhi-110012
		Division of Crop Protection, ICAR
		Research Complex for NEH
		Region, Umiam, Meghalaya-
8.	Dr. SANDIP PATRA	793103
		Scientist, Division of Entomology,
		ICAR-Indian Agricultural
	Dr. SURESH MAHADEV	Research Institute, New Delhi -110
9.	NEBAPURE	012
		Scientist (Agricultural
		Entomology), ICAR-Central
		Institute for Cotton Research
		Post bag No.2, Shankar Nagar P.O,
10.	Dr. V. CHINNA BABU NAIK	NAGPUR-440 010

These shortlisted nominations and the scoring for the shortlisted nominations were further scrutinised and got vetted by an independent National level Judging Committee comprising of three eminent entomologists constituted by the Society. The unanimous decision of this independent Judging Committee is taken as final. Accordingly, the list of nominations selected for the Young Entomologist Award 2020 is as follows:

- 1. Dr. Babasaheb B. Fand
- 2. Dr. Firake Dnyaneshwar Madhukar
- 3. Dr. Jaipal Singh Choudhary
- 4. Dr. Johnson Stanley
- 5. Dr. Meshram Naresh Manohar

Due to the present conditions, it has been decided to conduct the Award Ceremony online and present the Award through post (in absentia). The Award Committee has decided that each Awardee will have to present his/ her research work/ contributions through a suitably planned webinar series.